No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Weights Are Heavy

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on June 27, 2011
Tags:

So recently I started a weight training program.

I am always envious of people who are just plain physically strong. I want to be able to pick up heavy things without needing help.

I admit… I also like the look of strong muscles. I’ve had a lot of strength in my legs for quite some time now from the playing derby. But having strength in only one are of the body doesn’t really help with overall ability. I mean, sure, I could probably lift something really heavy if I lifted it with my legs… But if my arms can’t hold on to the thing… What’s the point?

So… Learn to lift heavy things by lifting heavy things, I suppose.

As with anything that we who live in the land of offices and cars do, the decision to start lifting heavy things involved a requirement to buy things.

It’s not like I can just go outside and cut down trees or haul rocks to get strong… I needed weights.

I had some lighter ones… 3, 5, 8, 12… But those are not really weights for building muscle. With light weights you can increase endurance… The ability to keep on lifting a lighter weigh for a while… But I really need 15, 20, 25 to build some muscle and allow me to lift even heavier things.

And you know? Weights are PRICEY!!!

I even thought I would just use the company fitness center to save having to buy some weights… But one trip there and having to actually WAIT for other people to get done using the weight I wanted to use was plenty to convince me that I am a person who needs to work out at home like I always have before.

Lucky for me… Facebook came to the rescue and a whiny post about how expensive weights are brought me lots of links to less expensive options!

Of course… There’s another issue with lifting weights as well. Yeah… It’s boring. B.O.R.I.N.G!

So I had to do something about that too.

Enter the iPod.

Over the years I’ve thought about getting one of those quite a few times… But I don’t listen to a ton of music, and I never really felt like I would use one enough to bother with.

But a little music goes a looooooooong way win making a boring exercise more tolerable.

So iPod it was.

So NOW I’m all set up and have started the program! I’m kinda digging it, actually… It’s only been a out 2 weeks, but I am already seeing results in my arms and shoulders. It’s pretty cool!

The only downside, I suppose, is that I ended up spending all the tattoo money I’d been saving :(. So I guess it’s back to saving up for that again.

Oh well… At least the new tattoo I eventually get will go over some badass muscles!

2 Responses to 'Weights Are Heavy'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Weights Are Heavy'.


  1. Good for you! We inherited a weight bench and weights from my dad, but it’s just collecting dust in our workshop room. 😦

  2. Ron said,

    Maybe these new weights will inspire a tattoo idea.


Leave a Reply

