No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Soup of the Week – Turkey and Barley Stew

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on July 1, 2011
Tags: ,

I was traveling two days this week for work… and what with the catching up when you get back… I guess the whole blogging thing went by the way-side.

But!!

It’s still “this week” – so I didn’t miss my chance to post the soup I made on Saturday.

I am inherently lazy, so a lot of my soups start with ground meat.  I’m not a big fan of the chopping.  I buy my vegetables frozen and have even started buying frozen chopped onions for soup too (hey… they are only about 50 cents more, and they save me at least 10 minutes of prep time… Worth it!

This could easily also be made with chopped up chicken or turkey and fresh-type veggies.

Turkey and Barley Stew

  • 4 second spray  canola oil
  • 20 oz ground turkey breast (99% fat free)
  • 12 oz  chopped onion (Frozen if you like)
  • 16 oz   package frozen mixed vegetables
  • 165 grams  barley
  • 32 ounce  low sodium chicken broth
  • 16 oz  mushrooms
  • 1/4 teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon  dried thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon  dried sage
  • 1/4 teaspoon  poultry seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon  black pepper
  • 2 cups water with one packet no sodium chicken bouillon
  •  corn starch to thicken

Serves 6

Directions

  1. Add onion and turkey to spray of oil; sauté 3 minutes.
  2. Add mixed vegetables; sauté 2 minutes.
  3. Add broth, water, bouillon, and barley and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes.
  4. Add salt, thyme, sage, poultry seasoning and pepper to barley mixture; simmer 10 minutes. (I’m pretty generous in my definition of 1/4 teaspoon)  Also, if you feel like it, toss in some rosemary.
  5. Thicken with corn starch.  (Here I’m just assuming you know how to do that)

Voila!  A Thick and Hearty stew of yumminess.  It could be more of a soup if you leave off the corn starch part, but I like my soup thicker.

Nutrition Facts

Serving Size – 1 serving (525 g)

  • Calories – 286
  • Calories from Fat – 25
  • Total Fat – 2.8g
  • Saturated Fat – 0.2g
  • Trans Fat – 0.0g
  • Cholesterol – 58mg
  • Sodium – 378mg
  • Total Carbohydrates – 35.2g
  • Dietary Fiber – 5.7g
  • Sugars – 4.9g
  • Protein – 30.0g
  • Vitamin A 79%
  • Vitamin C 15%
  • Calcium 3%
  • Iron 14%

 

 

2 Responses to 'Soup of the Week – Turkey and Barley Stew'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Soup of the Week – Turkey and Barley Stew'.

  1. Chrissie said,

    That sounds good! I’d have to swap the barley for quinoa or millet or something to make it gluten free, but it still sounds good. I love frozen chopped onion too, its the best thing since sliced bread…


    • You could make it with pretty much any grain… I’ve been thinking about trying quinoa, but I’m trying to use up the barley


Leave a Reply

