No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


The Center Cannot Hold

Posted in Just... Life,Navel Gazing by noceleryplease on May 22, 2012

Oh… Hey… look… there’s a blog here.

Trying to sort out my life.   Overwhelmed by work.   Quit Derby.   Can’t figure out how to get proper exercise.  Weight going up.

DepressionStressFatAngerWorkBitterNothingBoringScaredUninspiredNothingNothingNothing

At least I don’t live in Darfor…

3 Responses to 'The Center Cannot Hold'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'The Center Cannot Hold'.

  1. rennratt said,

    I have no advice. Just love and understanding.

  2. DebraSY said,

    Checking in. Hug. I get it.

    When I got gimpy and then couldn’t run anymore, I was foundering, and I still do some days. My weighted aerobics routine seems to have stuck me at a regain of 15 pounds of the 68 I initially lost in ’02-’03. Ack to the 15, but better than a complete 68-lb regain.

    I’ve worked my way up to wearing 35.5 pounds of extra weight as I double-time Leslie Sansone. I put 17.5 lbs in a weighted vest (women’s design so I don’t crush the girls), 5 on each ankle, 1 around each wrist and 3 in each hand. That’s my recipe, if you find it useful. It’s not as fun as running or derby, but it’s functional, I figure. I’m exercising as a fat chick, which burns more. Also, I can be stoic about it because I’m multi-tasking — I mute Leslie and watch the morning news. Also, in mile 3, I set down the hand weights and use an electric toothbrush to clean my teeth — triple tasking. I don’t do other aerobics than Leslie, since she doesn’t twist much, and I think twisting while weighted is a bad idea. I do “jog” as part of double-timing her (she only walks) but since I’m on heavily padded carpet my joints have been okay with it. I also have the bone density of a 22 year old, and I credit the weights. Not bad, since I’m 52.

    You didn’t ask for advice, and you may have something else that will work better for you, but I wanted you to have the full poop in case it strikes you as useful/tolerable. No trainer will tell you to do this (in fact, they’ll be horrified if you tell them you do), but I think exercising as a fat chick is a clever way to intensify a routine to the point a maintainer needs it.

    Hug again. Hope you find what works for you.


Leave a Reply

