No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Happy 4th of July!

Posted in Fooooooooooood! by noceleryplease on July 4, 2012

So what’s the perfect, patriotic, awesome thing to do on the 4th of July when it falls on a Wednesday and you have to go to work the next day?

Why…  a day at the Goodwill followed by Chinese Buffet, of course!

My Buddy Stephany and I started the day with a 2 hour visit to our local Goodwill Outlet.  It’s a little different than a regular Goodwill.  They don’t hang stuff up or anything, it’s just all dumped onto tables and you have to dig through it.   It’s like a sweet treasure hunt.  Best of all?  You just dump your stuff in a bin and buy it at the end for $1.39 a pound.  Cloths by the pound!  I bought 14 pounds of clothes.  I didn’t get many of the summer shirts I went in looking for.  But I got a ton of fall stuff and belts and scarves.  I am definitely going back there.  I went in once before and got scared aware, but Stephany acted as my Sherpa and showed me the ropes.  Now I am ready to do it again!

BUT!

The true beauty of our DAY OF AMERICAN GOODNESS AND EXCESS was our visit to the great and awesome Ichiban Buffet!

Where else can we celebrate all the greatness of America than at an all you can eat Chinese Buffet.

The Ichiban is the buffet of all buffets.  It’s so super awesome, I have a rule that I am only allowed to go once every 2 months.  So, July at the Ichiban… means I can’t go back until September. Let me show you why I have this rule…

Yeah…  Happy 4th of July, Baby!

2 Responses to 'Happy 4th of July!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Happy 4th of July!'.

  1. Al said,

    Ichiban is Japanese, not Chinese (means #1). Love Japanese buffet. The only problem is I run out of capacity before I run out of desire.


    • Yeah – I know the name is Japanese… and they serve Sushi, but the buffet is all americanized chinese stuff (and some just plain “american” Yummeroo, anyway 😉


Leave a Reply

