No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Research… Information… Stuff…

Posted in Health,Just... Life,Low Carb / Primal Inspired,Uncategorized by noceleryplease on July 16, 2012

Things and things and things.

I know KNOW that I eat a) Way more carbs than are particularly good for me and b) too much processed crap.

Now, the processed crap that I have been eating DOES pass itself off as “healthy”.

But low fat and “lite” and “Healthy” things are often loaded with chemicals and preservatives.

So – where does that leave me…?

I need to eat more unadulterated things. But that means that I am going to be picking up more fat in my unprocessed foods and, if I do not change my habits, more sugar calories in carb-based things.

So low carb…  how best to do it? Most info on the topic is very “fad-y.”

But, hell, what information about food and eating is out there that isn’t “fad-y”?

Paleo…  Primal… Atkins…  Sugar is bad…  Dairy is bad… chemicals are bad…  ugh.  It’s enough to make you give up.

But no…  I want to eat well and eat healthful foods.

Whole foods.

Foods that are good for me, but without having to resort to overstructured rules and silliness.

So I will continue to read… and read… and see what seems to make sense to me and what does not.

Blah Blah Blah.

 

 

5 Responses to 'Research… Information… Stuff…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Research… Information… Stuff…'.

  1. Doc Nagel said,

    We eat almost no processed food, and have done for several years. For almost a year we haven’t bought any bread from a store.

    The processed food almost always has more salt in it than you need or want — even “low sodium” stuff, and there are innumerable ways high fructose corn syrup is snuck into practically everything. The main problem is that processed food doesn’t let you know what you’re really eating, and when you cook stuff, you know, because you put it in there.


    • Apparently I have to learn how to cook.

  2. product info said,

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic
    to be actually something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  3. Sun Enge said,

    I like the “Don’t eat it if your grandmother (or great gm, depending on your age) won’t recognize it as food.” My grandmother, when presented with a box of Kraft Mac and Cheese back in the early 70’s had no clue what to do with it, and she did not consider it fit to feed to the animals, let alone the family.


    • The more I learn, the fewer things I feel like I am actually willing to put in my mouth!


Leave a Reply

