No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Water Water Everywhere

Posted in Health,Just... Life,Low Carb / Primal Inspired,Uncategorized by noceleryplease on July 18, 2012

Tired of hearing about my new eating plan yet?  Well – since it’s pretty much all that’s on my mind, I am going to bore you with more of it anyway.

Low carb is going well.  I have shed 6 pounds of water since I started on Friday.  It IS pretty much all water from my body burning off all the extra glycogen stored in my liver. I am sure once I figure out how many carbs I need to eat it will mostly come back.  Trust me – weight loss is in NO WAY a goal here.

Eating when hungry is going well too.  I am starting to feel actual hunger vs. carb-driven cravings to eat more.

Hungry feels like a slight ache in the left side of my stomach.  As opposed to a more brain driven “need” for more food when I was craving more carbs.

It’s weird – the difference between the “hungry” impulse and the “eat something just because” impulse.

Anyway – learning new and different things about my body!  Yay!

So I am still looking into things, but I think that from an eating standpoint, I am going to settle into the “Primal Model”.  I am too fond of dairy to go full on paleo…  Primal focuses on meat, fat, vegetables… allows dairy as long as you aren’t intolerant, nuts, fruits, eggs, etc.

It recommends 100 to 150 carbs per day – which is low, but not painful.

The guy who invented it is also not rigid and crazy about the plan – it’s more of a “do this most of the time”.

The only thing I haven’t decided yet is about the grains…  and whether I am going to have whole grains or not.  The Primal Blueprint is REALLY against grain of any kind due to this whole “chronic inflammation” thing that’s been in the news so much.

But reading further, I am finding that the science on whether whole grains are “inflammatory” are not is pretty weak.  Actually, I think the whole “chronic inflammation” theory of illness is weak and not hugely supported.  But there’s enough out there to give it a “hmmm… that sounds kinds possible”.

Anywho…  If you look up “The Primal Blueprint” and find the guy’s site, you will see a ton of free information if you are interested.  Caveat…  he makes his money selling supplements… which I have no intention AT ALL of ever buying.  But ignoring the advertisements to buy the full book and the supplements, I think the information and the eating plan makes quite a bit of sense.  and there’s a TON of free blogs / newsletters / writeups / etc.

So that’s where I am today.  Eating meat and fat and dairy and feeling pretty damn happy. Behold!  The power of cheese!

2 Responses to 'Water Water Everywhere'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Water Water Everywhere'.

  1. Ron said,

    Water??? I only drink pure Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup… sometimes I add a little milk to it…. does a body good.


Leave a Reply

