No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Sitting

Posted in Health,Just... Life by noceleryplease on July 24, 2012

It was quite some time ago that I made the decision to stand up at my desk at work.  I could look it up exactly in the blog records and find out, but I am too damn lazy for that sort of effort, so I am gonna say “about a year”…

It worked out quite well for a while, but lately, for the past couple of months, it has been taking a bit of a toll.  when I took up running, then stood up all day, MAN, were my feet and ankles ridiculously swollen at the end of the day.  Now, it’s too hot to trail run now, so that kind of went away, but I would like to go back to trail running in the fall, and I don’t want to have that same thing happen.

Also, I don’t know if I have mentioned the problem I have with my left ear… the tubes “pop open”… I have self-diagnosed on the Interwebz that it’s probably Patulous Eustachian Tube (I am going to the ear Dr. finally this week, BTW).  Lately THAT has been much worse during the week – and I thought maybe it was the dry air at the office – but after I sat down for a while yesterday it was better, so I’m thinking the long term standing might have been making that worse too.

Sad… because I like standing better.

But!  OK, I can admit when I need to do something new… so sitting might be in order.  But I still don’t want to just schlub over in my (ridiculously uncomfortable fancy ergonomic) chair.  so this morning I brought my exercise ball in to see how that works out.

So far?

My back hurts…  but that kinda happens whenever I sit for extended periods… so I think once the muscles get used to the new thing, I might be OK.

Also… my ear seems to have stayed “shut” so far…  so I am cautiously optimistic on that front.

Either way, I will not be beaten back into chair-dom.  If I can’t stand, then “active sitting” is my next place to go.

One Response to 'Sitting'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Sitting'.

  1. Ron said,

    I hear that riding a pony while at work desk helps to and works all sorts of muscles, but you have to keep the pony well fed or it won’t stand next to the desk all day.


Leave a Reply

