No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


I know – I keep talking about it

Posted in Fooooooooooood!,Low Carb / Primal Inspired by noceleryplease on August 2, 2012

But this “low carb” lifestyle thing is SO GREAT!

I am very much enjoying the meats and fats and yummy filling foods.

I am not even really craving cake or anything – although the baking with almond meal and coconut flour thing is a definite saver there.

My only hard and fast rule is now:  No grains, no refined sugars, keep “other sugars” – honey, etc. to a minimum.

Lucky for me, I do LOVE stevia.  I know some people can’t stand it, but I like it.

I am still making sure to take things ONE STEP AT A TIME!

NO CRAZY RUSHING INTO STUFF!

Si I got a stick blender that will allow me to do some basic pureeing and such.  I am still not ready to move into the land of food processor…

I am going to buy some different meats this week…  but I am not yet ready to bust out and get all “organic” and “grass fed”…  I do understand the benefits… but I am trying very hard to keep a rein on the crazy!

Yesterday I had a pretty simple meal of chicken breast, cauliflower puree and sauteed veggies.  It was super yummy!  And I COOKED it…  Nothing in the microwave, even!

Still – some things are not meant for home prep… this weekend I MUST GO TO THE DRAGON BUFFET!  (I never eat rice or noodles there anyway, it’s just a waste of stomach space 😉

3 Responses to 'I know – I keep talking about it'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I know – I keep talking about it'.

  1. Ron said,

    Trying different meats??? You mean there’s more than steak and bacon???

    • Sun Enge said,

      Heh, one or two. I like quail myself, but unless you hunt, they can be a bit pricey. Not too fond of rabbit, raised them for food when I was a poor college student doing the total homestead thing.

  2. Sun Enge said,

    I’m there with you on the ‘not missing’ things. I’m really not missing pasta or rice. I think the years of grinding poverty when I was young burned me out for the cheap starchy foods. (I do still like ramen tho w/o the ‘sauce’ packet, go figure!)
    Something I’ve been doing is mixing chocolate almond spread (http://sweetbaysupermarket.elsstore.com/brandstores/343-hain-celestial/products/247341-dark-chocolate-almond-spread-13-oz) with coconut butter for a dessert, and it totally knocks out any cravings for sweets. It does have sugar, but you could probably find something to mix with the coconut butter that doesn’t. A couple of tiny spoonfuls is all it takes.


Leave a Reply

