No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Roasted!

Posted in Fooooooooooood! by noceleryplease on August 3, 2012

Roasting a chicken and it smells YUMMEROO!

OK… it’s only about half way through…  what I am really smelling is the garlic I put all over it.

I PLANNED on getting out of work, getting to the store and coming home, getting a 3 pound chicken in the oven for an hour then taking the cleaned carcass and turning into soup.

What I DID was get out of work much later than I wanted… go to the store and take WAY more time than I expected because of “tax free weekend” crowds.

End up with a 5 pound chicken, because there was no 3 pound chicken.

Get home 45 minutes later than expected with 45 minutes more chicken roasting to do…

So CLEARLY I am not making soup tonight, but the chicken will at least be cooked, and I can chill it overnight and clean it tomorrow and make soup then.

This is the excitement of my life.

Actually, I find the chicken soup pretty exciting because it means I have lunches for every day next week 🙂

Chicken, turnips, carrots, green beans… SOUP!!

Tomorrow… a trip to the farmers market… and the Harris Teeter is having some really great sales on meat…  in GIANT packages, so I’ll have to spend some time cutting and bagging for freezing.

Sunday taking the nephews to see the Ice Age movie… should be fun.

Followed by….  DRAGON BUFFET!  Oh how I love my Chinese Food!

I’ll be sure to post a review of the movie – it’ll give me something to talk about besides FOOOOOOD!

11 Responses to 'Roasted!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Roasted!'.

  1. Sun Enge said,

    Actually, the carcass will be easier to deal with after it is cold. I always wait till the second (And sometimes third!) day to make my stock. Look at you cooking! ;D I do hope that you are enjoying it.

  2. Ron said,

    Yay SOUP!! umm…er…. isn’t it supposed to be Yay Toast!! ….. I’m so confused. Just send me soup or toast please.


    • Sending via squirrel delivery… I am sure they will get it to you!

  3. John said,

    Sounds like you have an eating disorder


    • I don’t know who you are John… but if you hang out here for a while you will get a huge dose of my disordered eating habits! I take great care and have rules and support people that keep my behavior on the “no” side of actual, diagnosable “eating disorder” It’s my crazy and I manage to keep it from harming me most of the time.

    • Sun Enge said,

      Excuse me? Who the fuck are you, and how did you come to that conclusion on the basis of discussing roasting a chicken?


      • You know… I was kinda wondering how that conclusion was reached from this Particular post…

  4. rennratt said,

    Oh, Roasted Chicken sounds awesome. Sun Enge is correct; cooled chicken is easier to strip down and cook for stock. You get more meat that way, too.

    I want to come to your house for dinner.


    • It’s a bit of a drive for Chicken Soup 😉

  5. Ron said,

    Just send it to her via squirrel, I mean I got my stuff already, but it sort of tasted funny and the squirrel kept pointing a laughing while I ate….


Leave a Reply

