No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Cauliflower Pizza = FAIL

Posted in Fooooooooooood! by noceleryplease on August 10, 2012
Tags:

OK, not 100% fail…  but a definite D minus.

The cauliflower crust is made of riced cauliflower, egg, mozzarella cheese and spices.

In theory, this can be patted out on a well greased tray and baked into a crust like material.

The theory seemed sound, as I have seen many “crackers” made of cheese on TV cooking shows… basically just put cheese on a tray and bake until crispy.

But the practice created a large flat round of cheesy crust-esque material that pretty much would not let go of the foil I cooked it on and was ultimately far too much trouble / effort / time for the end result… which was an admittedly tasty enough (because I put bacon on it, and, come on… bacon) but kinda moist / crumbly / fall aparty application that was almost entirely but not quite unlike pizza.

It was round and flat and had cheese involved.

Well, not everything can be stellar, I guess. And, some things are just down right bad.  I didn’t mention my attempt at preparing horseradish from a root.  That went down the sink…  at least this I was able to eat 🙂

I ate half of it, and it made a perfectly cromulent dinner, but the prep time and effort was simply not worth the end result.

Verdict = pizza should probably go on the “do not try to mess with perfection” list.

Cauliflower applications for me will stick to: puree, which is yummy, riced, also yummy, and, of course.. just plain cooked cauliflower, which I also like quite a bit.

So that’s my culinary adventure for the week.

Next week should be better.  I have a marinated pork loin I’ll roast on Monday that should provide meat for salad or perhaps stir fry for several meals. 

I am still toying with the idea of making shepherds pie for my birthday with cauliflower puree, but maybe it would just be better to do a deconstructed version of it… serve the lamb and puree separate.. might be safer.

We shall see what comes to pass.

5 Responses to 'Cauliflower Pizza = FAIL'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Cauliflower Pizza = FAIL'.

  1. rennratt said,

    I generally try to support creativity in cooking…but…cauliflower?

    GAK.

    Congratulations on your recent foray into creative cooking – and being willing to try the healthiest option possible.

    But really? CAULIFLOWER PIZZA CRUST?! [runs away with hand over mouth]


    • It wasn’t terrible flavor-wise… But it certainly wasn’t pizza 🙂

  2. Ron said,

    Less cauliflower and more bacon might make it better… or maybe a crust made entirely of bacon!!!!

  3. Sun Enge said,

    I haven’t tried it yet, it did look interesting. The raw foodies use it alot too for stuff like pizza crust.


    • Good luck – maybe you can get it to work!


Leave a Reply

