No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Am I Brave Enough For That?

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on August 17, 2012

So this morning, I saw a link on FaceBook talking about women and shaving off body hair and how more women are giving it up…

http://blogs.independent.co.uk/2012/08/16/why-body-hair-is-on-the-frontline-of-feminist-action/

I am pretty sure that I have blogged before lamenting my own wish that I could stand up to the social pressure and just not shave.

I find it inconvenient, time consuming, sometimes painful, and each and every time I do it, I KNOW that I am not doing it because of my own personal preference, but because some time ago, marketers figured out they could sell more stuff if they convinced us all that body hair on women is “gross.”

That’s ONE of my reasons for not liking shaving (other than the trouble and expense).

The other is that I resent our culture telling women that they need to look like prepubescent girls in order to be attractive.

Children are hairless.

Adults – not so much.

Now, please, do not get me wrong.  People wanna shave?  I have no problem with that.  Some people like the smooth skin texture.  Some people just prefer the look.  I mean… I pluck my eyebrows because I like the way they look arched in a certain way.

But I DON’T pluck my eyebrows because I am told I HAVE to and will be pointed at and made fun of if I do not.

I tend to not shave in the winter anyway.

So maybe this is the year I will finally do this thing.

I mean, just saying it out loud.  I shave the hair off my body because other people are made uncomfortable by it and will try to shame me.

What’s up with that?  Sounds like a bad reason.

HOWEVER! 

I do not like the “stubble” look or feeling – and there’s at least 2 more weeks of shorts weather to be had.

So…  I’m thinking the legs will need to start later in September.

But armpits…  hell, no one ever sees them anyway… not like I wander around with my arms all up in the air… maybe I’ll just leave that alone for a while and see where we go.

3 Responses to 'Am I Brave Enough For That?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Am I Brave Enough For That?'.

  1. Al said,

    At the moment, I do not shave anything at any time. And it is OK with everyone. Double standard anyone?

  2. Deborah said,

    here’s to getting to a place where you are comfortable in your own skin w/hair. 😉


Leave a Reply

