No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Ringy Dingy

Posted in Just... Life by noceleryplease on September 14, 2012
Tags:

So with my recent interest in “fashion” (well – MY fashion, anyway, not a fahinonable fashion – lol)…  I am also getting back into jewelry.

I am looking into getting some of my old rings resized so I can wear them again.

I’m trying to figure out if it’s worth the time and effort to get these done… none of the rings are particularly expensive… as I have never been a big fan of expensive jewelry.  So if it costs more to re-size them than when I bought them, I guess there’s no point…

But!

Wedding Band 1

This is the most important one to me … it’s my original wedding ring.  We were young and broke, so it’s just the basic $70 Service Merchandise white gold band.  You can see it’s WAY too big for me now -I have no idea if a ring can even be sized down that far.  This ring was a tight squeeze on my wedding day… I might be willing to pay more than the worth of this ring – to be able to wear it for sentimental reasons… it’s been around since day 1.

 


This is my second wedding band.  The SB got me this as a replacement for the first.  Picked it out all on his own and everything… probably why out of all the rings, this one comes closest to being what I would consider “pricy”…  I think it was close to $500?  I could be wrong.  Anyway – I am sure you know I am too cheap to have done that for myself.  I guess that’s what SBs are for!  I would really love to be able to wear this and the original band together on my ring finger…  you can see it’s still too big… and it has tiny diamonds all the way around – no clue if that will make it impossible to re-size.  But I would like to.


This is a ring that belonged to my great uncle, then my Dad, then me…  it gets passed to people with “RL” initials 🙂

It’s gotta be at least 80 years old.

It’s been re-sized before – to make it bigger – I can tell by looking at the inside.  The important part is the design at the top, so hopefully this could be shrunk down to fit a finger.


The rest of them are not really that important – they are just rings I have that are too big…

    

white gold – one ruby, one sapphire… I don’t think either one of these was over $150… so maybe not worth the money to re-size… Just “fashion” rings.

And the last is really a super cheap rose gold band… it’s pretty dented up, but if it could be done easily, I wouldn’t mind getting it shrunk to fit my thumb.

I sent these pics to two jewelers… one in a store, one a friend of a friend…  so I’ll see what comes of it.

4 Responses to 'Ringy Dingy'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Ringy Dingy'.

  1. Ron said,

    You could always put them on a chain for a necklace… 😉

  2. Tiff said,

    wear ’em on your thumb? Big Toe? Amazing how much you’ve shrunk.

  3. Sun Enge said,

    Wow!

  4. Deborah said,

    I was going to suggest the necklace route as well. Or, the more sentimentally valued items can be honored in some other way, perhaps prominently featured in wearable art of some sort.

    And yeah, wow.


Leave a Reply

