No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Who Makes Awesome Soup?

Posted in Fooooooooooood!,Low Carb / Primal Inspired by noceleryplease on October 5, 2012

I do!

20121005-132525.jpg

Cabbage soup… Lots of people make thin, watery, pathetic cabbage soup as “diet food”.

There’s a whole “diet” centered around sad cabbage soup.  I know – I was, of course, on it for a while as a kid.

You  know why that diet doesn’t work?  That soup sucks.

But this soup?

NOT like that.

Start with a pound of mild Italian sausage.  Add in one link of hot.  Brown until crumbly.

Add onions, garlic, a chopped up head of cabbage, a can or two of diced tomatoes, and a can or two of chicken broth.  Um… salt, pepper, your favorite spices… (I used Italian seasoning and some red pepper flakes in this one).

This makes Cabbage STEW, people, and it is AWESOME!

I never actually make this the same.

This one also has some bok choy that was in the fridge.  And… when I chop up a head of cauliflower, I always save the stalk and slice it for tossing into soups.

I have put in zucchini, yellow squash, mushrooms, carrots… anything in the fridge that needs using and is a vegetable.

It’s not a recipe…  This is the way I make Cabbage soup… and Chicken soup…  just put stuff in a pot and cook it.  As long as the basics are there (meat, onions, garlic, broth)… the rest can be done any old way.

I also LOVE using this stuff:

Caldo De Tomato!!

You have to go to the Mexican aisle…  They do not make this for the Gringos…  But the Tomato / chicken bouillon…  OMG – so yum.

I don’t know about where you are – but I ALWAYS buy my spices, bouillon, etc. on the Mexican aisle (my WalMart has a BIG ONE)…  why?  Because the spices, etc that cost $3 or $4 on the “Anglo” aisles, are 75 cents on the Mexican aisle.

This is probably some kind of racism…  but I do not care.  I prefer to pay less.

2 Responses to 'Who Makes Awesome Soup?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Who Makes Awesome Soup?'.

  1. Sun Enge said,

    Yummy yummy yum!

  2. Ron said,

    Ummm…. I was good at sausage, but all the plants???


Leave a Reply

