No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Cream of Not-Wheat

Posted in Fooooooooooood!,Low Carb / Primal Inspired by noceleryplease on December 21, 2012

One of the things I miss a bit about low-carb eating is hot cereal.

I like hot food. I like hot cereal. I miss oatmeal.

But the oatmeal makes me feel oogie now. I eat it and feel bloated.

I love cream of wheat.

But again, while wheat doesn’t make me feel particularly bad, the calories are high.

Alternatives are flax… But I understand it’s kind of slimy if you try to make a hot cereal out of it.

Enter an idea I had…

Coconut flour! I already love it, it’s high fiber, low carb, low cal.

So I had a little experiment this morning in making cream of not-wheat… And it was yummy!

I put a little too much pumpkin pie spice, so it was not a total success, but definitely worth another shot.

I think I will try making it with almond milk instead of water, maybe.

But I have a warm belly full of cereal for about 200 calories and 6 net carbs.

Breakfast success!

4 Responses to 'Cream of Not-Wheat'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Cream of Not-Wheat'.

  1. Ron said,

    I do something similar!!! Well… not exactly… I grind up almond joy bars and mix it with milk and heat it in the microwave for breakfast… ok… maybe it’s not so similar….

  2. rennratt said,

    Please share the recipe when you have it ‘settled’! I would love to share the recipe with my friends – and try it myself! I have friends that have switched to almond flour; one friend has celiac disease, the other is switching her entire family to eat “Paleo”.


Leave a Reply

