No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Best. Movie. Ever!

Posted in Uncategorized by noceleryplease on December 26, 2012

We went to see Les Misrerables today.

It was SUPER DUPER AWESOME FABULOUS!!!

Ok… So I love the musical already, so I was predisposed to like it. But still… MAN that’s good movie!

The close-in acting that can be seen in a movie adds a whole new dimension to the story… Plus the realism of the sets, etc. really add to the story.

Hugh Jackman did a superb job of playing Jean ValJean. His voice was not spot on for the part, but he did such a fabulous job of inhabiting the character that I was totally blown away.

Ann Hathaway was astounding. ASTOUNDING!!! The song “I dreamed a dream” had me weeping. Me! I DO NOT CRY at entertainment of pretty much any kind. But I was crying all through this thing.

“Empty Chairs at Empty Tables” was absolutely wrenching.

The only low point was Russel Crowe. He’s a good actor… And he did a food job at the less challenging numbers. But he’s at best a competent singer and for the monologue songs… “Stars” and the death scene… It was obvious that he had a choice between acting and singing. He just didn’t have the power to carry off the passion required from the song. Sad, but didn’t ruin the movie. They could have cast it better, I think… But I guess they needed another “name”, and there are only so many famous actors who can sing too.

Jackman needs an Oscar for this, though. Damn.

It did have to be cut down to make the time. The live show is much longer than the movie. They cut some verses here and there, but nothing earth-shattering.

I loved, loved, LOVED THIS MOVIE!

Going to see it at least once more in the theater and will DEFINITELY be buying the blu ray when it comes out!

One Response to 'Best. Movie. Ever!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Best. Movie. Ever!'.

  1. Ron said,

    I would consider it, but the story bothers me.


Leave a Reply

