No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


MMA? Wow… I would not have thought that…

Posted in Health,Just... Life by noceleryplease on January 9, 2013

So I have been looking for a little while for a place to work out.  After retiring from derby, my exercise regimen has slackened to the point where I am just disappointed in myself each time I finish a “workout”.  I just couldn’t find the motivation to push myself…

Sure – still getting some nominal exercise, but fitness level has been steadily decreasing.  Weight stable…  but body fat % has gone up 5 points.  That’s a whole lot of muscle loss and fat gain in 6 months.

Sigh.

So – obviously I need something to keep me active.  Something that will push me…  Something with a little “competition” that I can prove myself against.

I always work a little harder when someone else is doing physical stuff better/harder/faster than me.

I started looking around for a gym… but nothing really struck me.

I could have joined a “Gold’s Gym” type chain…  but that would have left me still working out essentially on my own – and I can slack off on that at home for free.

So I looked at Crossfit.  I seriously considered Crossfit.  But… my goodness – even though I want to be challenged…  those people are CRAZY!  CRAZY I TELLS YA!  Plus – although I do also enjoy a low carb eating plan, and I do like some/a lot of “Paleo” food… Crossfitters tend to be the “drink the koolaid” type on Paleo – and I dislike proselytizing…

Still – I might have tried it anyway – if a friend hadn’t sent me a link to a Groupon for this place: http://femalefightersmma.com/

I figured “What the Hell!?” – at $45 for 20 classes it was WAY WAY WAY less $$ than any Crossfit I found (which is also RIDICULOUSLY EXPENSIVE).   And since the thing I had found most intimidating about Jiu Jitsu was the idea of having to grapple with some dude who outweighed me by 70 pounds (terrible fear of being held and trapped), I figure the “all female” classes might be less threatening.

Turns out…  now that I have been to two sessions.  MY GOODNESS THIS IS FUN STUFF!

Also – and most importantly – a kick-butt workout.

So – here I am – apparently training to fight MMA.  Not that I plan on actually fighting.  But we spar in class, and it’s really fun… and getting choked out by a 115 pound girl does not set off my panic alarms, so I think I’ll be able to effectively learn how to get out of such situations without just immediately surrendering and “tapping out”, which I think I would do if I had a male partner bigger than me…

I have 18 more classes in my Groupon to decide if this is something I want to pay for on an ongoing basis and buy the Gi, etc… which mill be a bit of an investment, but nothing dire.

Yay for being physically challenged again!

3 Responses to 'MMA? Wow… I would not have thought that…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'MMA? Wow… I would not have thought that…'.

  1. Ron said,

    I tried to join one of those to wrestle with the women, but they turned me away 😦 Yay for the new workout btw and if it gives you any self defense moves for real life it’s even better.

  2. pyjammy said,

    Just wanted to say hello. I found your blog when I was looking up tummy tuck stories (I’m desperate for one) and when I saw the name of your blog, well, I knew I’d found a kindred spirit. Celery is the tool of the devil!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

