No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Wasted Time

Posted in Health,Just... Life,Navel Gazing by noceleryplease on January 30, 2013

Sometimes I think about my younger self and what I used to be like.

I spent so much time burying myself in food and hating anything even approximating exercise.

Now… I am a different person.

I pay more attention to what / how I eat.

More importantly (to me) is that I also really love working out.

Not just working out… But full contact, ass kicking, bad-ass working out.

Thing is, though… I am not a young thing anymore.

This is not me whining about being “old” or anything. I love my life more every year. I am not wishing for youth.

But… It makes me a little sad that I am past the point where I can participate in activities at a “competitive” level.

I see these AWESOME girls fighting MMA. And I know that while I certainly can participate at some level… I am beyond the point where I could physically hack it in any serious way.

For the most part, I am cool with that.

But I have sort of a wistful feeling about it… Like wishing your parents had made you stick with those piano lessons.

I think… Gee… If only I hadn’t spent the first 27 years of my life as a “couch potato”… I wonder what I might be capable of now?

If I hadn’t weakened my knees over 27 years… Would I be better now? Harder? Faster? Stronger?

Ah well. Everyone is built of their life experiences, and I would not trade the person I am now, or my life the way it is.

Just sometimes I guess we must all think about “what might have been”…

One Response to 'Wasted Time'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Wasted Time'.

  1. Ron said,

    I fully get that “wistful” feeling…


Leave a Reply

