No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Sigh

Posted in Health,MMA,Surgery by noceleryplease on April 26, 2013

I am tired and in pain.

I really really really LOVE boxing and Jiu Jitsu.  It’s FUN!  It engages the body and the brain.  It is a FABULOUS workout.

But damn…  I just keep on hurting myself.  January it was general “kinda creaky”…  I started taking glucosamine and – yay! Fixed!

But then February I took a shot to the ribs and THOSE hurt for weeks.

I also did something to my shoulder so THAT was hurting.

I kept going back and going back thinking… OK, at some point I am going to be DONE with these dumbass injuries.

Then in March… it appears I tore my meniscus.

I waited… I gave it time.

It got a bit better, but not “really”.

So I made an appointment with the doctor.  HOPING to be told I hurt my knee and here, wear this brace.

Alas.. instead I heard “MRI” and “Arthroscope” and “Surgery”.

Then – in the time between making the appointment and going to the appointment, I was grappling with a girl who is SO strong.  She was trying to take me down and she misjudged how light I am… and instead of taking me down, she basically threw me up in the air and slammed me to the mat.  Then landed on me like a dead weight.  So now my shoulder and ribs hurt again.  This may not be the sport for me.

Now – this is no one’s fault but my own.

I bought the damn ticket.  I took the ride.  I am not looking for anyone to cry for me.

But I am sad that I strongly suspect I am going to have to give this up.  If I go to all the trouble of having my knee fixed surgically, I do not think I can, in good conscience, go right back to the thing that hurt it.  Maybe the MRI will say no surgery.

And while I could just go to this gym and do the boxing classes…  I think I would be sad when it was Jiu Jitsu time and I had to leave.

Sigh. And Double Sigh.

I guess I am on the lookout for another activity I can do to keep fit and motivated – maybe without so much pain.

I’ll have to get over my desire to be seen as a bad-ass, I guess 😉

One Response to 'Sigh'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Sigh'.

  1. Ron said,

    So sorry to hear about the injury and I understand. I took Tai Kwon Do many years ago up until I bent my knee the wrong way… ended that hobby for me. I probably should have had surgery way back then as it still gives me issues to this day. Oh… can I volunteer to have this woman throw me to the matt??? It sounded sort of fun.


Leave a Reply

