No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Remembery

Posted in Health,MMA,Surgery by noceleryplease on May 2, 2013

I need to read and REMEMBER the things I post here.

I have a little editor in my head that tells me things like… “You weren’t in that much pain”…  “But it was so FUN!”…  “Maybe if you changed X or Y”…  “Who says we are too old for that?”

That little editor does not recall how I felt JUST LAST THURSDAY.

That little editor minimizes the bad and emphasizes the good.

And there was A LOT of good.  That feeling that I would have after a really great class where everything just clicked and I totally jiu jitsu’d all over the place was really great.  I get a rush of satisfaction and accomplishment from doing physical things that are difficult and doing them well.

So it draws me, and it sings to me…  “Don’t you want to feel that way again?!”

I don’t get that kind of satisfaction from just “working out”…  There’s no test there.  There’s no real accomplishment… it’s just… “well, I burned another 300 calories. good”.

And maybe once I get this knee all sorted, I can consider going back to it… But I need to remember the OW.  Because it’s part of it.  You do not get just the good, no matter what that stupid head voice has to say.

3 Responses to 'Remembery'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Remembery'.

  1. Ron said,

    Just rememberize this, the voices, they lie!!!! Darn voices….


    • It’s a shame – because otherwise they are good company

  2. Al said,

    Those voices get me on more damn trouble…..
    “It seemed like a good idea at the time………


Leave a Reply

