No Celery Please – NYC Edition!


Buckets!

Posted in Health,MMA,Surgery by noceleryplease on May 7, 2013

Well – in Knee news, it looks like I will be having a bit of surgery.

I have a “Bucket Handle” tear of my left knee medial meniscus.

The torn piece (like in the picture below) is kinda flopping around and getting pinched between my femur and tibia.

This = pain.

ans7_meniscustear

My option is to either have the torn piece trimmed off or live with the pain.

I decided that I will go the “fix pain” option.

A diagram of how they will be trimming the piece is below (OK – it’s for a right knee, but whatever).

The doctor will go in and trim out the torn bit.

Voila, no more pain.

74672W

Since I am going to London next week, I am putting the surgery off until I get back.  My Doc was almost confident that I could have the surgery this week and walk around London next week, but he did think six days was cutting it close.  So I decided I would rather go to London with the pain I know than with potential unknown pain.

Should be able to get back to regular walking, etc in just a few days after the surgery.  Doc says there’s no reason after the surgery that I should not go back to Jiu Jitsu… once the meniscus is trimmed, there’s nothing further that can be damaged related to it.  UNLESS  … I tear a new tear.

So while the Doc actually said I could easily go back to Jiu Jitsu in about three weeks, I have decided that I am going to spend some time in the weight room, making my left leg muscles stronger so I reduce the risk of a new injury.

Also – I am not 100% sure I am wanting to go back to the FFMMA gym… I like them… I LOVE the ladies I train with…  but the gym appears to be moving in a bit of a direction I am not 100% wild about.  I’m going to reserve judgement until I am back to feeling like I can go back, anyway.  Then decide on the location that I go back to.  I do miss the training already, though.

So anyway… that’s all the knee news.

 

One Response to 'Buckets!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Buckets!'.

  1. Ron said,

    Have them just take a little off the top… Glad you can go back to training afterwards!


Leave a Reply

